Friday, April 20, 2012

Tulip mania


Imagine...a culture that values botanical beauty above all else.
Tulips, during the Dutch Golden Age in 1637,
were valued at ten times the annual skilled craftsman's wage.



Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Sunday, April 15, 2012

Evergreen perennial superstar


From mid-winter to spring, helleborus niger flowers.
Few can rival its magical hold on me.
Anatomy revealed in detail above.


Thursday, April 12, 2012

Baby Mukdenia


Today, this baby mukdenia is emerging from the moist soil.
A woodland native of Asia,
it proves to be a good world citizen too!

Correction-Previously identified as baby bergenia-oops! 
Sorry.

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Monday, April 9, 2012

Paradise found




Speckled trout,
a small grotto,
 and bonsai pine on mossy rock.

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Leather and lace-helleborus


A mass of helleborus planted at the base of 
lilac standards in a formal setting
gives the garden an early ooomph!

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Noteworthy

Hidden Gardens and Private Spaces
has just nominated one of my gardens!
The Cabbagetown garden will be featured in 
the tour June 3, 2012.

Rhubarb



Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Sweetness


Wish I could remember its name...
It's a very pretty bulb-sweetness.

Monday, April 2, 2012

Solid like a rock

Am thinking
 on how to integrate this kind of 
solid mass...hmmm.