Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Friday, December 12, 2014

Thursday, December 4, 2014

best before December 25



 In parking lots across the city, 
evergreen trees are sprouting up 
out of thin air!


Tuesday, December 2, 2014

It's Personal



Foraging in a new patch, it is a delight 
to discover fragments of cherished relics.

Gardens are personal spaces.


Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Dreams are made of this




Snow flurries fall outside and
new whimsical garden fantasies flourish inside.


Friday, November 7, 2014

A Teacher


A garden is a grand teacher.

It teaches patience and careful watchfulness.

It teaches industry and thrift;

above all, it teaches entire trust.


Gertrude Jekyll



Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Monday, November 3, 2014

Friday, October 24, 2014

attractive and TOXIC



That is aconitum...or monkshood.
Still going strong at this time of the year, 
when everyone else is ...  not at their best.


Wednesday, October 22, 2014

A Moment of Serenity


"Sunken Garden" by Isamu Noguchi 
offers a rare moment of calm in the frenzy of 
the Financial District in Manhatten.


Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Urban Dweller


This American Sycamore probably has a few stories to share...
it makes its home in Central Park.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

WIND - flower




A late-bloomer, in the best possible way.


A New York Moment



Botanical sculptures and embroidered landscapes
at the New York Foundation for the Arts
on Saturday October 18, 2014.
See you there!


Sunday, October 5, 2014

Apple of My Eye


As wide as she is tall - meet 'Acrocona' the Red Cone Norway Spruce.
Her slouchy attitude sets the pace for a relaxed and lazy 
Sunday afternoon. 


Monday, September 22, 2014

Dill


In a vintage milk urn, a bouquet of yellow fireworks 
measures over four feet tall. This edible annual is 
an excellent candidate for a potager garden next year.

Monday, September 15, 2014

Monday, September 8, 2014

Enchantment






A lazy afternoon stroll with the Farmer's Wife to survey 
The Land.
Profuse in bloom -
Queen Anne's Lace 
dominates.









Wednesday, August 20, 2014

The Balm



Hemlocks, persicaria, helleborus and filipendula
have one thing in common - the colour - GREEN.

A balm for the eyes.



Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Fresh Outlook for a Victorian Beauty

After
 
Before
 
 


Artful pruning saved the cedar.
She got a new lease on life with a streamlined silhouette.
And, the new cast of characters will provide four-season interest.



Sunday, July 20, 2014

Monday, July 14, 2014

Easy Elegance


The Easy Elegance® Collection promises to deliver everything 
we love about roses — the color and beauty — 
without the fussy maintenance roses used to require. 

And it turns out, 
this claim holds even for this novice rose gardener.