Friday, December 4, 2015

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Saturday, November 28, 2015

Gender Bender?



A 5000 year old male yew tree is producing berries,
normally the exclusive domain of female trees.

The BBC reports on this earth shattering news.


Thursday, November 26, 2015

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

350 year-old GIANT



"Before there was a country called Canada, 
before there was a city called Toronto, 
before the province of Upper Canada was established, 
this tree was here." 
reports Edward Keenan from the Toronto Star.


Sunday, October 18, 2015

Friday, October 2, 2015

Future Pleasure Dividends


IMAGINE
 The Garden coming to LIFE following months of winter.

Spring bulbs:  Mount Everest alliums

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Unlikely Bedfellows


Mountain laurel nestles under the wing span of a 
Black Lace Elderberry.

Experimenting with novel foliage combinations
in my urban garden, aka the Laboratory. 


Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Blooms - a - Plenty


This garden is a feast for the senses,
brimming with colour and foliage today.

And enough edible nasturtiums for a banquet-
anyone?

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

September Rage


First year in a garden with full sun exposure,
and All the Rage, an Easy Elegance rose, 
blooms.

Thank you.


Thursday, August 20, 2015

Mushrooms-Deadly and Divine




Foraging in the bush, this is a small sample 
of mushrooms I came across last weekend.

Read more about "Magic" Mushrooms


Wednesday, August 19, 2015

The Landscape of the Community Garden



The backdrop to a community of 
beans, cucumbers and tomato plants.

Feeling lucky to shoehorn
ornamental plants into the urban mix.


Friday, July 10, 2015

Trees-Good for your Health


Scientists discover that "having 10 more trees in a city block, 

on average, improves health perception in ways comparable 
to an increase in annual personal income of $10,000 and 
moving to a neighborhood with $10,000 higher median income 
or being 7 years younger.”



Thursday, July 2, 2015

Mixed Greens


Toss random mixed greens together and 
discover serendipitous combinations. 

One part nasturtium, one part daylily,
a dollop of wormwood and finish with a gallon of
cerastostigma plumbaginoides.



Monday, June 29, 2015

Ache-ey Breaky Heart


Nothing quite like a simple white daisy.


This one is new to the laboratory also known as my garden.
Leucanthemum x superbum 'Aglaia'


Monday, June 22, 2015

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Snow White


I am smittenGlossy green foliage frames large white blooms 
from late spring to early summer. A dogwood named Venus 
and she exceeds all expectations.



Thursday, May 21, 2015

Blades


Shortly after admitting himself to an asylum, Vincent van Gogh painted Irises. 
This work and the sum of its parts, the inflorescence, falls and beards
became the most expensive painting ever sold in 1987.


Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Flowerlets


Up close - the grouping of flowerlets 
ready to bloom on a viburnum.



Thursday, May 14, 2015

Road Trip


In the heartland, an orchard discovered  
around the Golden Horseshoe.

Photographer, Gail Garaughty.


Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Good Cheer!


A Garden chock-a-block with spring bulbs
is GOOD reason to break out your happy dance.


Friday, May 1, 2015

Trends for the Garden 2015


ONE  Edible gardens weave into outdoor living spaces    TWO   Naturalistic design elements cross-pollinate with formal elements   THREE  Subdued colour palettes with dominant Earth tones trending   FOUR  The covered pergola returns-extending the season outdoors

 Read more about the hot trends from Garden Design Magazine.


Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Through the Garden Gate: Lawrence Park


Looking for inspiration? Consider taking a self-guided tour of
private gardens in Toronto organized by The Toronto Botanical Garden
on Saturday June 13 and Sunday June 14, 2015


Saturday, April 25, 2015

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Money Grows on Trees


 Excellent landscaping builds equity in your home
by as much as 6-7%.  Money in your pocket.
See Landscape Ontario for details.

 Photographer, Gail Garaughty