Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

She Blooms

Annabelle gave me this rose-without-a-name two years ago. She, the rose-without-a-name kept a low profile in the Garden Laboratory until now...

Monday, August 21, 2017

Thursday, July 13, 2017

a little bit Country in the City




Daisy Duke jumps out of the General Lee
to tend to her flock of hollyhocks in her short- short denim shorts.

Throwback Thursday


Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Mixed Greens



A sumptuous shady location in The Garden has lime green, 
mid-green, copper-orange, glossy and wet, ribbed green, ivory margins...


Always experimenting with foliage - never a dull moment.


Saturday, June 3, 2017

Between RED and BLUE


The purple bearded iris is standing tall and taking centre stage
in the Garden Laboratory today...ohhh la la la la la-ahhhh


Friday, May 26, 2017

After the Rain

The promise of blooms in the Garden Laboratory. Globemaster alliums look unassuming...for now. Stay tuned.




Friday, May 19, 2017

Spruce Tips eh?


An edible food source - who knew?

The red cones on the Acrocona Norway Spruce  are visually arresting, 
from my Garden Laboratory.



Friday, May 5, 2017

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Dew Magic

Water droplets on tender fuzzy seed- heads of the emerging Pasque flower...

Monday, April 24, 2017

True Blue


Big, bold and BLUE 
Heavenly fragrance.

Glad I got out and planted these last fall. 

Sunday, March 26, 2017

The Garden as My Muse

Botanical Sculpture Installation

The Garden is rich with inspiration.
Read the entire article by Jacqueline Bishop from 




Saturday, March 4, 2017

Foliage


The wind whistling through the garden
is one song that never gets old.




Thursday, February 16, 2017

Mile High!




Bodies of water in mysterious shapes contrasts
with straight lines and rectangles - this is the mile high view.

Ohhh Canada! 


Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Big Love


Elements that make Gardens come alive:
the sun, water, earth,
and the birds and the bees.


Sunday, February 12, 2017

Sno-ohhhh!






And this is proof positive that things continue to grow even in the winter...
tiny buds growing on the larch.



Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Found Object


This looks like a tool from the Stone Age. In fact,
 it is an elegant chunk of ice from the sandy shores of 
Kew Beach, Toronto. 


Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Kew Beach


Keep your clothes on, it is just barely above zero.
The sound of Lake Ontario lapping onto the shores of the beach
was just right...



Tuesday, January 31, 2017

The Little Gardener


Author, Emily Hughes tells a heart-warming tale about a boy and his garden.
Her vibrant illustrations engage the imagination and the senses.
It's the perfect balm for this winter day:


"This was the garden.
It didn’t look like much, but it meant everything to its gardener.
It was his home. It was his supper.
It was his joy."





Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Friday, January 6, 2017

Red Accents



Architectural design elements in the Japanese Garden contrast 
with lush broadleaf evergreens.
Butchart Gardens 

Home for a Faerie?



Over the weekend, I watched this mushroom double in size. 

A Fence: Point No Point


In the winter when the garden is dormant, 
an ornamental fence might be 
the only thing left standing.

Point No Point is the name of a place in British Columbia.
You can see it here.